The Thaw

After the Big Freeze all is now thawed out, with temperatures going as low as   -14 it is hard to believe the within a week temperatures could be back up to +8 and rising. Even thought the cold arctic weather did a lot of damage to  property and made driving and day-to-day living tough, it has  left with me images of  a white sparkling countryside  covered in a blanket of frost.

Mother nature has not been put on hold for long, today as we walked down the avenue I noticed the snow drops are now up and some are showing their bright white heads. I will be watching all my plants and shrubs from now on to see what damage the cold weather did to them. I hope I have not lost any plants to this very cold winter.

About lakeavenuehouse

Welcome to Lake Avenue House, we provide bed and breakfast and self catering in the County Cavan's Lakelands.

Leave a comment